OTTER-MESSER-ANKER-MW-2OTTER-MESSER-ETUI-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-KARTONAGE-MW-2OTTER-MESSER-KARTONAGE-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-10OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-13OTTER-MESSER-PILZE-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-8

OTTER-KNIVES COOPERATION


Concept / Design management / Cooperation

Year: 2013


OTTER-KNIVES

Sharp quality from Solingen since 1840.

The OTTER® company was founded around 1840 in a small ‘Kotten’ – a traditional grinder’s watermill – at the Königsmühle in Solingen by the Berns brothers. Their name comes from the indigenous otters, which used to live in the riverbanks and streams in the Bergisch Land region in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. They also adorn the products as the company’s logo.
In 2011 Frank Rommel took over the company and is leading the traditional manufactory into a new era.

RANGE

The range of OTTER knives, as well as carefully selected new accessory additions, should continue to impress with the same quality that has distinguished them for many decades.
The product range includes knives for leisure, for the household, the garden or for hunting. The majority of them are equipped with carbon blades, which means the knives have an outstanding sharpness and robust quality.

OTTER knives are made in Solingen, using traditional methods. And they are still manufactured and sharpened there using meticulous handcraftsmanship to this day.

Go to SHOP


COOPERATION

In a cooperation with designer Moritz Wenz, the OTTER® company is complementing its product range with a series of new additions.

Tailored to specific pocket knife models, a collection including items such as cases and holsters has been created. The shared goal was for the cases to enhance the use of the knives as useful and everyday accessories. In accordance with their shared ethos and the preference for staying local in terms of the product, history and production, the collection is made in Germany by hand.

Go to SHOP


PACKAGING CONCEPT

And the packaging concept, which was specially developed for the classics in the pocket knife range, is also new. It is ideal for the presentation of the products in stores or as gift packaging and also contains information about the products and how to care for them.


CASES & HOLSTERS

The cases and holsters developed specially for the selected OTTER pocket knives are made from vegetable-tanned cowhide. This is sourced from companies which have been producing leather for many generations.

  
The leather products are sewn and assembled by hand in small manufactories in Germany. The holsters are also equipped with a belt loop and brass press studs.

Go to SHOP


THE CLASSIC ANCHOR POCKET KNIVES

The Anchor knife was originally a knife for work purposes and has a maritime background. The brass anchor is embedded in the wood and tightly riveted. The blade is straight, which has the advantage that cable and rope are easy to cut. It is also suitable for descaling fish. The rounded upper surface of the blade prevents injuries in heavy seas.

 
The drilled hole and leather loop make it easier to secure the knife, preventing it from falling overboard. Today this model has established itself as a versatile knife for day to day use.
The classic is a trusted and valued companion for when you’re on the move – a useful and down-to-earth tool.

Go to SHOP


MERCATOR® - KNIVES

MERCATOR® - Pocket knives, unchanged for more than 100 years

Simple, functional, robust – the knife with over 100 years of history. It was even a trusted companion for the German Emperor Wilhelm in the 1860s. And due to its minimalistic and robust design it is still valued around the world to this day.
The sturdy metal handle and the blade are assembled and riveted by hand. The result is a pocket knife with a narrow design of approx. 7 mm in width.

MERCATOR® Global

– The American GIs brought the knife to the USA after the Second World War and made it famous there. And the “Made in Germany” knife with the K55K stamp is still a highly coveted item in America. The handle is embossed below the grip and after powder-coating, painted by hand. K55K means: “K” for Kaufmann (the original manufacturer), “55” for Hochstrasse 55 (the address of the company at the time) and “K” for the symbol (‘Katze’, the German word for “cat”). The Mercator® knife is a sleek all-purpose and table knife.

Go to SHOP


THE MERCATOR® MULTI

The 4-part MERCATOR® multifunctional pocket knife was last produced 60 years ago. Based on old designs and yellowed drawings, the knife has now been reissued and given a new lease of life.

   
Just like in the past, it has four tools – a lockable knife blade, a spike for loosening knots and punching holes into leather and fabrics, a tin opener and a corkscrew.

Go to SHOP


GOOD TO KNOW

The knife is one of the most ancient and vital tools of humankind. There is an innate connection between its usefulness and the emotion it inspires. Everyone has fond memories of the first knife they ever owned. Childhood and teenage memories are awakened; to this day a durable, well-made pocket knife is a practical tool and loyal companion.


So if you are thinking about giving a knife as a gift, don’t forget to demand a “symbolic payment” in return (a small coin for example). According to superstition, the gift of a knife will sever the bonds of friendship. That's why it should be symbolically “bought” by the recipient. After all, we don't want to destroy friendships, but forge them together instead.

OTTER-MESSER-ANKER-MW-2OTTER-MESSER-ETUI-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-KARTONAGE-MW-2OTTER-MESSER-KARTONAGE-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-10OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-13OTTER-MESSER-PILZE-MW-1OTTER-MESSER-MANUFAKTUR-MW-8

OTTER-MESSER KOOPERATION


Konzeption / Designmanagment / Kooperation

Jahr: 2013


OTTER-MESSER

Die Firma Otter wurde um 1840 in einem kleinen Kotten – einer traditionellen wasserbetriebenen Schleiferei – an der Königsmühle in Solingen von den Gebrüdern Berns gegründet. Ihr Name stammt von den Fisch-Ottern, die damals an den Ufern der Bäche und Flüsse im Bergischen Land lebten. Diese zieren die Produkte als Logo des Unternehmens.
2011 übernimmt Frank Rommel das Unternehmen und überführt die Traditions-Manufaktur in eine neue Ära.

SORTIMENT

Das Sortiment besteht u.a. aus Messern für die Jagd, den Haushalt, den Garten oder die Freizeit. Größtenteils ausgestattet mit Kohlenstoffklingen haben die Messer eine hervorragende Schnitthaltigkeit und zeugen von robuster Qualität.
Otter-Messer werden in traditioneller Bauweise in Solingen gefertigt. Auch heute noch werden sie dort in sorgfältiger Handarbeit hergestellt und geschärft.

ZUM SHOP


KOOPERATION

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma OTTER wurden Neuerungen und Erweiterungen im Produktsortiment realisiert.

Abgestimmt auf ausgewählte Taschenmesser-Typen entstand u.a. eine Kollektion von Etuis und Holstern. Die gemeinsame Zielsetzung war, durch die Hüllen die Nutzung der Messer als ein nützliches und alltägliches Accessoires, zu unterstützen. Entsprechend der gemeinsamen Wertevorstellungen und dem Bezug zum Lokalen bei Produkt, Historie und Fertigung, wird die Kollektion von Hand in Deutschland gefertigt.

ZUM SHOP


KARTONAGEN & VERPACKUNG

Eine weitere Neuerung bildet das Verpackungskonzept, das speziell für die Klassiker im Taschenmesser-Sortiment entwickelt wurde. Es eignet sich für die Präsentation der Produkte im Handel sowie als Geschenkverpackung und enthält Informationen zu Produkt und Pflege.


ETUIS & HOLSTER

Die speziell für die ausgewählten Otter-Taschenmesser entwickelten Etuis und Holster, werden aus pflanzlich gegerbtem Rinderleder gefertigt. Dieses stammt aus Betrieben, welche seit vielen Generationen Leder produzieren. Vernäht und montiert werden die Lederprodukte von Hand in kleinen Manufakturen in Deutschland.


Die Holster sind zusätzlich mit einer Gürtelschlaufe und Messing-Druckknöpfen versehen. Angelehnt an die Formsprache der OTTER-Messer ist ein stimmiges Sortiment entstanden. Weitere Accessoires, wie z.B. das Lederband ergänzen ebenfalls das Sortiment.


AUS DEM SORTIMENT DER OTTER-MESSER GMBH

ANKER-TASCHENMESSER, DIE KLASSIKER

Das Ankermesser war ursprünglich ein Arbeitsmesser und stammt aus dem maritimen Bereich. Der Messing-Anker ist in das Holz eingelassen und fest vernietet. Die Klinge, in Schafsfuß-Form, ist gerade. Das bietet den Vorzug das Taue und Seile gut geschnitten werden können. Zudem eignet sie sich so gut zum entschuppen von Fischen. Die abgerundete Oberseite der Klinge verhindert Verletzungen bei schwerem Seegang.

 

Die Bohrung und Leder-Schlaufe ermöglicht ein Sichern des Messers gegen Verlust.

Heute hat sich dieses Modell als Alltagsmesser etabliert. Der Klassiker ist ein geschätzter Begleiter für Unterwegs – ein nützliches und ehrliches Accessoire.

ZUM SHOP


MERCATOR® - Taschenmesser

Seit über 100 Jahren unverändert.

Einfach, funktionell, robust - das Messer mit einer über 100-jährigen Geschichte. Dem Heer Kaiser Wilhelms um 1860 war es ein steter Begleiter. Noch heute wird es aufgrund seiner minimalistischen und soliden Art weltweit geschätzt. Der stabile Metallgriff und das Messer wird von Hand montiert und vernietet. Das Ergebnis ist ein Taschenmesser in einer schmalen Bauart von ca. 7mm.

MERCATOR® Global

Die amerikanischen GI‘s brachten das Messer nach dem 2. Welt-krieg nach Amerika und machten es dort berühmt. Das Messer „Made in Germany“ mit seiner Prägung K55K ist dort Kult. Die Prägung wird unter der Presse eingestanzt und nach dem Pulverbeschichten von Hand ausgemalt. Die Bezeichnung K55K bedeutet: „K“ für Kaufmann (der ursprüngliche Hersteller), „55“ für Hochstraße 55 (die damalige Firmenadresse) und „K“ für das Symbol (Katze).
Das Mercator®-Messer ist ein schlichtes Allzweck- sowie Tafelmesser.

ZUM SHOP


Das MERCATOR® MULTI

Das 4teilige Mercator® Multifunktions-Taschenmesser wurde zuletzt vor 60 Jahren produziert. Nach alten Mustern und vergilbten Zeichnungen wurde das Messer jetzt von der Otter-Messer GmbH neu aufgelegt.


 
Wie früher ist es mit vier Werkzeugen ausgestattet – eine arretierbare Messerklinge, die Ahle zum Lösen von Knoten und Stechen von Löchern in Leder und Stoffe, der Dosenöffner und ein Korkenzieher mit Seele.

ZUM SHOP


WISSENSWERT

Das Messer ist eines der ältesten und wichtigsten Werkzeuge der Menschen. Seit jeher verbindet es Nutzen als auch emotionale Komponente. Ein jeder kann sich genau an das Messer erinnern, welches er oder sie als erstes erhalten hat. Bei diesem Thema werden Kindheits- und Jugenderinnerungen wach, denn damals wie heute ist

ein solides Taschenmesser Werkzeug und treuer Begleiter. Ist also ein Messer als Geschenk gedacht, so denken Sie bitte immer, daran im Gegenzug einen „symbolischen“ Gegenwert (z.B. eine Münze) zu erhalten. Denn ein verschenktes Messer, so die Sage, zerschneidet sonst das Band der Freundschaft. Und dafür wurde es nicht gemacht.